Dog Licenses

Licensing Requirements
Dogs are required to be licensed every year by Michigan State Law. Read more at the Michigan Legislature website.

Proof of Rabies
To obtain a license, a proof of current rabies vaccination is needed.

License Renewals
Dogs must be licensed every year. The license is valid January 1 through December 31. To avoid a late fee, license must be purchased by June 1.

Licensing Locations

Type of License
Phone Number
3-Year Licenses
Oakland County Animal Control
1700 Brown Road
Auburn Hills, MI 48326
1-Year Licenses
Waterford Township Treasurer's Office
5200 Civic Center Drive
Waterford, MI 48329
Either Licenses Some local veterinarians
Either Licenses
Oakland County Treasurer's Office
1200 N Telegraph Road
Pontiac, MI 48341

License Fees

Type of License
Fee if Spayed or Neutered
Fee if not Spayed or Neutered
Resident who pays before June 1
$7.50 $15.00
Senior citizen (65 years or older) who pays before June 1
$6.75 $13.50
Any resident who pays after June 2
$30 $30.00
Exceptions to June 2 Fee Increase
  • New resident (within 30 days)
  • New dog (within 30 days)
  • Dog just turned 4 months of age (within 30 days)